• Black Amazon Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • book-bub-icon

The Steamship Embarks Today! "Pub Day"



March 9, 2021 Newsletter



From Shipmate #1 NYT Bestselling Author Kristin Hannah

Here's what she had to say. . .


"A beautiful, richly detailed novel about a lost bit of American maritime history. In a seamless blending of fact and fiction, Patti has created an atmospheric, compelling story of survival, tragedy, the enduring power of myth and memory, and the moments that change one's life."

Buy the Book

Click Here for Signed first edition books. For signed bookplates, please mail a self-addressed stamped envelope to: Patti Callahan Henry 1919 Oxmoor Road. PMB #303 Homewood, AL 35209




From the Captain

bon voyage!


From the Cruise Director

Elegant or Casual attire. Open seating. Join your fellow shipmates, the captain, and guests, for fun-filled events and adventures at sea— from virtually anywhere.

Tour Details





The Untold Story Behind SURVIVING SAVANNAH




New Podcast Series from Chief Mates


Listen to The Untold Story Behind Surviving Savannah on Spotify. Join New York Times bestselling author Patti Callahan for an in-depth exploration into the fascinating stories explored in her novel, Surviving Savannah.


You'll hear interviews with some of the foremost experts on the myth and lore of Savannah, shipwreck treasure hunting, the hidden stories in museums, and the astounding real-life family story that inspired the novel.


View Podcast Series




Shore Excursions

Though you’re free to explore each port on your own, taking a tour can be a memorable and convenient way to immerse yourself in history. In SURVIVING SAVANNAH, Patti Callahan has woven a sweeping, captivating tale; of a contemporary woman lost in a fog of grief who finds solace-- and finally, redemption as she uncovers the long-buried secrets of a nearly forgotten shipwreck—and the courageous women who survived to bear witness to history. Based in fact, steeped in heart-breaking detail, SURVIVING SAVANNAH raises the little-known, 180-year-old story of the Southern Titanic to the forefront of American historic fiction.




Onboard Cruise Entertainment





Your Cruise Documents and Itinerary


SUMMARY


It was called "The Titanic of the South." The luxury steamship sank in 1838 with Savannah's elite on board; through time, their fates were forgotten--until the wreck was found, and now their story is finally being told in this breathtaking novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Becoming Mrs. Lewis.


When Savannah history professor Everly Winthrop is asked to guest-curate a new museum collection focusing on artifacts recovered from the steamship Pulaski, she's shocked. The ship sank after a boiler explosion in 1838, and the wreckage was just discovered, 180 years later. Everly can't resist the opportunity to try to solve some of the mysteries and myths surrounding the devastating night of its sinking.



Everly's research leads her to the astounding history of a family of eleven who boarded the Pulaski together, and the extraordinary stories of two women from this family: a known survivor, Augusta Longstreet, and her niece, Lilly Forsyth, who was never found, along with her child. These aristocratic women were part of Savannah's society, but when the ship exploded, each was faced with difficult and heartbreaking decisions. This is a moving and powerful exploration of what women will do to endure in the face of tragedy, the role fate plays, and the myriad ways we survive the surviving.

Buy the Book

Read an Excerpt Book Club Kit Paperback: 432 pages Publisher: Berkley Pub Date: March 9, 2021 ISBN-10: 1984803751 ISBN-13: 978-1984803757 Formats: Hardcover, e-book, Audiobook





An All-Inclusive Adventure

Cruise Book Club Check out the wealth of information for your next book club:

  • Letter from the Author

  • A Conversation with Patti

  • The Long Street Family Tree

  • Map of Ship's Course

  • Artifacts

  • Who Perished & Survived

  • Timeline

  • Loss of Pulaski

  • Discussion Questions

  • Recipe

Book Club Kit




Map of Ship's Course








Cruise Ship Reviews

FOR SURVIVING SAVANNAH

"New Southern Books We’re Eager To Read in 2021."

—Atlanta Journal

"Kick Off Spring with the 25 Best New Books of March 2021."

—PopSugar

"Book Picks for Spring 2021."

Deep South Magazine

"Top 20 Spring Book Picks"

—AARP Magazine

“Most Anticipated Spring 2021 Historical Fiction Books”

—Biblio Lifestyle

"Winter’s Most Anticipated Historical Fiction Books."

—SheReads

"Top Book Covers for Spring 2021"

—Parade Magazine

"Here's Your 2021 Spring Reading List: Page-Turners."

—Scoop Charlotte

"2021 Books to Look Forward to."

—Buzz Magzine

"2021 Women’s Fiction to Watch For."

—BookTrib

"8 Highly-Anticipated Books in March"

—Borneo Bulletin

"[G] ripping....While Lilly’s story is moving, Callahan’s portrait of Everly drives the story, bringing to life a little-known shipwreck in meticulous detail. Fans of Southern historicals should check out this engrossing, centuries-spanning tale. —Publishers Weekly

“Callahan (Becoming Mrs. Lewis) tells a harrowing tale of survival and courage, fate and chance, bringing the actual tragedy of the Pulaski to vivid life.”

―Library Journal

“The success of ‘Surviving Savannah’ can be found in Callahan’s ability to vividly bring to life a fascinating, harrowing slice of history that should be as well-known as the Titanic, especially for Southerners.”

—The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

“Both Augusta and Lilly are women of their times, dependent on their family, especially the males, but their struggles at sea after the boiler explosion, and amid the fear and heavy loss, reveal courage and a resilience to survive that elevates them and brings on newfound strength.” —Historical Novel Society

"An abundance of courage, selflessness, and amazing grace, demonstrating the best of humankind amidst the worst of times. 5 Stars. Highly recommend!"

—The Bluffton Sun

"SURVIVING SAVANNAH is told through a dual timeline, and Callahan smoothly uses the past to illuminate the present-day narrative and deftly and empathetically re-creates a harrowing disaster that too many have forgotten."

—The Augusta Chronicle

"Fans of Christina Baker Kline and Kate Quinn will love this beautiful, richly detailed novel about a lost bit of American maritime history. In a seamless blending of fact and fiction, Patti Callahan has created an atmospheric, compelling story of survival, tragedy, the enduring power of myth and memory, and the moments that change one's life."

—Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Great Alone and The Four Winds

"Hidden history rises from the watery depths in all its glittering glory but also in its intimate, human detail. Meticulously researched, beautifully written, underpinned by timeless themes of personal trauma and its aftereffects, Surviving Savannah is a journey readers and book clubs will treasure.”

—Lisa Wingate, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Before We Were Yours and The Book of Lost Friends

"Patti Callahan masterfully weaves a little-known historical tragedy, an enigmatic mystery, and a searing family saga into a mesmerizing tale that will captivate readers until the last page and beyond."

—Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

“In this lush, vibrant novel by the indomitable Patti Callahan, one can feel with incredible vibrancy the raw terror aboard a sinking steamship in the darkness, the searing pain of loss, the modern-day mystery of a ghost ship unearthed in the ocean’s depth...[A] rich tale of friendship, heritage, forgiveness, redemption, and the thin, too-fragile line between life and death. How will we survive the surviving? one of her characters wonders, and it is a question that Callahan mines beautifully. If you’re fascinated by the Titanic, meet your new favorite novel."

—Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Lost Names

"The astonishing story of the 'Titanic of the South' is brought to vivid life by Callahan, who effortlessly blends fact and fiction into a novel that I simply couldn’t put down. This tale of survival, love, and loss, as well as Callahan’s epic portrayals of a trio of strong, passionate women, gripped me from the very first page. Simply masterful."

Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue

“[A] sweeping, captivating tale of a contemporary woman lost in a fog of grief who finds solace, and finally, redemption, as she uncovers the long-buried secrets of a nearly forgotten shipwreck—and the courageous women who survived to bear witness to history. Based in fact, steeped in heartbreaking detail, Surviving Savannah raises the little-known, 180-year-old story of the Southern Titanic to the forefront of American historical fiction.”

—Mary Kay Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Hello, Summer

“A luminous novel about bravery, connection, and resilience that resurrects a forgotten 19th-century shipwreck and interlaces it with a page-turning contemporary narrative. With lush historical detail and a graceful pen, Callahan raises questions about fate, faith, and human purpose that are timeless. Surviving Savannah has the luster of a secret that’s been pulled from the depths of the sea.”

—Signe Pike, Bestselling author of The Lost Queen & The Forgotten Kingdom

“In Patti Callahan’s fiercely hopeful Surviving Savannah, the past and the present intertwine with ringing authenticity. Disaster and crisis become a powerful testing ground, as Callahan’s expertly-drawn characters are forced to discover how to live past tragedy, and what matters most in the aftermath. This is exactly the kind of story we need right now. ​

—Paula McClain, Bestselling author of The Paris Wife and When the Stars Go Dark

"What a marvelous tapestry Patti Callahan has woven in SURVIVING SAVANNAH![S]pellbinding….Beautifully written with a masterfully crafted plot, Surviving Savannah leaves the reader breathless and marveling at the manner in which the past and present interweave in ways we almost cannot imagine.”

—Marie Benedict, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Only Woman in the Room & The Mystery of Mrs. Christie

“Through the interwoven tales of three courageous women, Surviving Savannah ​grips the reader in a spellbinding novel full of mystery, tragedy, sacrifice, and resilience....Superb.”

—Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author of Sold on a Monday

“Riveting...a heartfelt exploration of the pain of survival amid incalculable loss, and a mesmerizing character study of three women...[A] memorable and profoundly moving novel that readers are destined to cherish.”