• Black Amazon Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • book-bub-icon
steamship illustration.jpg

Coming  March 9, 2021

SURVIVING SAVANNAH

"The Titanic of the South"

“In Surviving Savannah, Patti Callahan masterfully weaves a little known historical tragedy, an enigmatic mystery, and a searing family saga into a mesmerizing tale that will captivate readers until the
last page and beyond." 

 

Pam Jenoff,
NYT Bestselling Author of The Lost Girls of Paris

 

steamship steam nautical.jpg

Praise For 

Surviving

Savannah 

“The astonishing story of the ‘Titanic of the South’ is brought to vivid life….This tale of survival, love, and loss, as well as Callahan’s epic portrayals of a trio of strong, passionate women, gripped me from the very first page. Simply masterful.”
 

Fiona Davis, NYT Bestselling Author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue
 

Surviving Savannah

"A seamless blending of fact and fiction" 

“Fans of Christina Baker Kline and Kate Quinn will love this beautiful, richly detailed novel about a lost bit of American maritime history. In a seamless blending of fact and fiction, Patti Callahan has created an atmospheric, compelling story of survival, tragedy, the enduring power of myth and memory, and the moments that change one's life."
 

Kristin Hannah

 #1 NYT Bestselling Author of 

The Great Alone & The Nightingale

“Through the interwoven tales of three courageous women, Surviving Savannah ​grips the reader in a spellbinding novel full of mystery, tragedy, sacrifice, and resilience….Superb.”
 
Kristina McMorris,

NYT Bestselling Author of
Sold on a Monday

 

savannah historical houses .jpg



"A spellbinding novel full of mystery, tragedy, sacrifice,
and resilience. 

Superb."

SS promo vintage maps rotated.png

“Hidden history rises from the watery depths in all its glittering glory but also in its intimate, human detail. Meticulously researched, beautifully written, underpinned by timeless themes of personal trauma and its aftereffects, Surviving Savannah is a journey readers and book clubs will treasure.”

 

Lisa Wingate,
#1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours and
The Book of Lost Fri
ends

“A luminous novel about bravery, connection, and resilience that resurrects a forgotten 19th-century shipwreck and interlaces it with a page-turning contemporary narrative. With lush historical detail and a graceful pen, Callahan raises questions about fate, faith, and human purpose that are timeless.

Surviving Savannah has the luster of a secret that’s been pulled from the depths of the sea.”

Signe Pike, 

Bestselling author of

The Lost Queen & The Forgotten Kingdom

adventure stories background.jpg



"Surviving Savannah

has the luster

of a secret

that’s been pulled from the depths

of the sea.”

vintage nautical maps .jpg

"What a marvelous tapestry
Patti Callahan has woven in 

SURVIVING SAVANNAH!"

 

"[S]pellbinding….Beautifully written with a masterfully crafted plot, Surviving Savannah leaves the reader breathless and marveling at the manner in which the past and present interweave in ways we almost
cannot imagine.”

 
Marie Benedict 

Bestselling Author of
The Only Woman in the Room & 
The Mystery of Mrs. Christie  

old map compass.jpg

“[A] rich tale of friendship, heritage, forgiveness, redemption, and the thin, too-fragile line between life
and death. How will we survive the surviving? one of her characters wonders, and it is a question that Callahan mines beautifully. If you’re fascinated by the Titanic,
meet your new favorite novel.”
 

Kristin Harmel,
NYT Bestselling Author of

The Book of Lost Names
 

“[A] sweeping, captivating tale of a contemporary woman lost in a fog of grief who finds solace, and finally, redemption, as she uncovers the long-buried secrets of a nearly forgotten shipwreck—and the courageous women who survived to bear
witness to history.”

Mary Kay Andrews
NYT Bestselling Author of

Hello Summer

Old vintage retro compass on ancient map

It was called "The Titanic of the South."  The luxury steamship sank in 1838 with Savannah's elite on board; through time, their fates were forgotten—until the wreck was found, and now their story is finally being told in this breathtaking novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Becoming Mrs. Lewis.

When Savannah history professor Everly Winthrop is asked to guest-curate a new museum collection focusing on artifacts recovered from the steamship Pulaski, she's shocked.

 

The ship sank after a boiler explosion in 1838, and the wreckage was just discovered, 180 years later. Everly can't resist the opportunity to try to solve some of the mysteries and myths surrounding the devastating night of its sinking.

Everly's research leads her to the astounding history of a family of eleven who boarded the Pulaski together, and the extraordinary stories of two women from this family: a known survivor, Augusta Longstreet, and her niece, Lilly Dawson, who was never found, along with her child. These aristocratic women were part of Savannah's society, but when the ship exploded, each was faced with difficult and heartbreaking decisions.

 

This is a moving and powerful exploration of what women will do to endure in the face of tragedy, the role fate plays, and the myriad ways we survive the surviving.

savannah georgia river front.jpg

“Riveting…a heartfelt exploration of the pain of survival amid incalculable loss, and a mesmerizing character study of three women…[A] memorable and profoundly moving novel that readers are destined to cherish.” 

—Jennifer Robson,

International  Bestselling Author of

The Gown 

“[A] lush, meticulously researched deep-dive into the little-known story of a historic shipwreck….Surviving Savannah is a lyrical homage to this southern city and makes a real contribution to the historical record.”
—Stephanie Dray,

NYT Bestselling Author of

American's First Daughter  

© 2020 by Patti Callahan Henry

patti@patticallahanhenry.com

  • White Amazon Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • YouTube - White Circle

Website Design Development & Management by Judith D Collins