• Black Amazon Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • book-bub-icon
PATTI LOGO.png
PORTHOLE NAUTICAL.jpg

Praise
For 

Surviving

Savannah 

PW review teal.png
Copy of STEEL PLATE NAUTICAL SHIP.jpg
parade-logo.jpg

"Top Book Covers for Spring 2021" 

—Parade.com  

 

"Winter’s Most Anticipated Historical Fiction Books."

—SheReads 

she reads.png

 

"Most Anticipated Spring 2021 Historical Fiction Books." 

—Biblio Lifestyle

NEW-B-I-B-L-I-O-L-I-F-E-S-T-Y-L-E-e15786
savannahnow_logo_1_edited.jpg

 

"Surviving Savannah: A dive into Southern history."

Savannah Now

deepsouth_logo_full2x.jpg

"Book Picks for
Spring 2021."

—Deep South Magazine 

logo_site_popsugar.png

 

"Kick Off Spring With the 25 Best New Books of March 2021"

—Popsugar 

aarp logo.png

 

"Top 20 Spring Book Picks." 

—AARP Magazine

scoopcharlotte_edited.png

 

"Here’s Your 2021 Spring Reading List: Page-turners"

Scoop Charlotte 

ajc now.jpg

"New Southern Books We’re Eager to Read in 2021."

—Atlanta Journal 

the buzz magazines.png

 

"2021 Books to Look Forward to." 

Buzz Magzine 

 

"2021 Women’s Fiction to Watch for."

BookTrib 

book tribe logo.png
phprqXRQC.jpeg

 

"10 Best Books of March." 

The Christian Science Monitor  

publishers weekly long good.png

 

"Behind the Bestsellers | Regional Champs 

Surviving Savannah: East South Central 

region." March 22, 2021
"Bestseller List #11 Hardcover fiction"

—Publishers Weekly  

wp%20logo_edited.png

 

"Publishers Weekly Best-sellers:  Surviving Savannah" #11 

March 2021

The Washington Post  

 

"The Titanic of the South’: New look, new voices in epic Lowcountry tragedy."

The Island Packet 

facebook_edited.jpg
SN logo.png

 

"A gripping tale, Callahan (a highly competent storyteller)  dramatizes a real-life, 19th- century Southern shipwreck story in her novel, "Surviving Savannah."

StarNews Online  

boreno bulletin.jpg

 

"Top 8 Highly-Anticipated Books in March."

Bornelo Bulletin 

Katie couric logo kcm.png

 

"NYT Author Kristin Hannah's current reading 
recommendation: '
Surviving Savannah' | March 2021"

Katie Couric Newsletter   

Joint%20Patti%20and%20SS_edited.png

"One of two tales that showcase female strength and creativity in 

unforgettable ways."

Jersey's Best Magazine    

womans%20world%20logo%201_edited.jpg

 

"This week's best new books (3/13/21) 

historical pick, 'Surviving Savannah'" 

Woman's World Book Club  

LJ%20logo_edited.png

"Callahan (Becoming Mrs. Lewis) tells a harrowing tale of survival and courage, fate and chance, bringing the actual tragedy of the Pulaski to vivid life.”

Library Journal

ajc now.jpg
garden_and_gun_logo.webp

"The Hidden History in Savannah’s Museums. 'How one writer shaped her new novel with access to Georgia’ ships, silver, and journals." ―Garden & Gun 

“An epic novel that explores the metal of human spirit in crisis. It is an expertly told, fascinating story that runs fathoms deep on multiple levels." ―New York Journal of Books   

augusta chronicle.png

“The story is told through a dual timeline, and Callahan smoothly uses the past to illuminate the present-day narrative and deftly and empathetically re-creates a harrowing disaster that too many have forgotten." —The Augusta Chronicle  

“The success of ‘Surviving Savannah’ can be found in Callahan’s ability to vividly bring to life a fascinating, harrowing slice of history that should be as well-known as the Titanic, especially for Southerners.”
The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Arts ATL logo.png

“Patti Callahan’s novel, ‘Surviving Savannah,’ is engrossing, timely….and her novel could not be more perfect for this moment.” ―Arts ATL  

“The Story of a Storyteller."  The Lowcountry is a source of inspiration for best-selling author Patti Callahan:  Surviving Savannah."―Hilton Head Monthly Voice of the Lowcountry    

bluffton sun logo.jpg

"An abundance of courage, selflessness, and amazing grace, demonstrating the best of humankind amidst the worst of times. 5 Stars. Highly recommend!" 

—Glenda Harris | The Bluffton Sun  

historical novel society logo.png

“Both Augusta and Lilly are women of their times, dependent on their family, especially the males, but their struggles at sea after the boiler explosion, and amid the fear and heavy loss, reveal courage and a resilience to survive that elevates them and brings on newfound strength.”—Historical Novel Society 

Surviving Savannah

"A seamless blending of fact and fiction" 

“Fans of Christina Baker Kline and Kate Quinn will love this beautiful, richly detailed novel about a lost bit of American maritime history. In a seamless blending of fact and fiction, Patti Callahan has created an atmospheric, compelling story of survival, tragedy, the enduring power of myth and memory, and the moments that change one's life."
 

Kristin Hannah

 #1 NYT Bestselling Author of 

The Great Alone & The Nightingale

“The astonishing story of the Titanic of the South’ is brought to vivid life….This tale of survival, love, and loss, as well as Callahan’s epic portrayals of a trio of strong, passionate women, gripped me from the very first page.

Simply masterful.”
 

Fiona Davis,
NYT Bestselling Author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue

 

Copy of ship map nautical .jpg

"Simply

masterful.”

savannah historical houses .jpg



"A spellbinding novel full of mystery, tragedy, sacrifice,
and resilience. 

Superb."

“Through the interwoven tales of three courageous women, Surviving Savannah ​grips the reader in a spellbinding novel full of mystery, tragedy, sacrifice, and resilience….Superb.”
 
Kristina McMorris,

NYT Bestselling Author of
Sold on a Monday

 

“Hidden history rises from the watery depths in all its glittering glory but also in its intimate, human detail. Meticulously researched, beautifully written, underpinned by timeless themes of personal trauma and its aftereffects, Surviving Savannah is a journey reader and book clubs will treasure.”

 

Lisa Wingate,
#1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours and
The Book of Lost Fri
ends

SS promo vintage maps rotated.png
world map.jpg



"This is exactly the kind of story we need
right now."

“In Patti Callahan’s fiercely hopeful Surviving Savannah, the past and the present intertwine with ringing authenticity. Disaster and crisis become a powerful testing ground, as Callahan’s expertly-drawn characters are forced to discover how to live past tragedy, and what matters most in the aftermath. This is exactly the kind of story we need right now. 

Paula McClain,   

Bestselling author of

The Paris Wife and

When the Stars Go Dark 

“In Surviving Savannah, Patti Callahan masterfully weaves a little known historical tragedy, an enigmatic mystery, and a searing family saga into a mesmerizing tale that will captivate readers until the
last page and beyond." 

 

Pam Jenoff,
NYT Bestselling Author of The Lost Girls of Paris

 

sunset sunrise water ocean .jpg

"A Mesmerizing Tale." 
 


 

adventure stories background.jpg



"Surviving Savannah

has the luster

of a secret

that’s been pulled from the depths

of the sea.”

“A luminous novel about bravery, connection, and resilience that resurrects a forgotten 19th-century shipwreck and interlaces it with a page-turning contemporary narrative. With lush historical detail and a graceful pen, Callahan raises questions about fate, faith, and human purpose that are timeless."

Signe Pike, 

Bestselling author of

The Lost Queen & The Forgotten Kingdom

old map compass.jpg

“[A] rich tale of friendship, heritage, forgiveness, redemption, and the thin, too-fragile line between life
and death. How will we survive the surviving? one of her characters wonders, and it is a question that Callahan mines beautifully. If you’re fascinated by the Titanic,
meet your new favorite novel.”
 

Kristin Harmel,
NYT Bestselling Author of

The Book of Lost Names
 

SS trio.png

Available in Hardcover, e-book, and audiobook formats 

“[A] sweeping, captivating tale of a contemporary woman lost in a fog of grief who finds solace, and finally, redemption, as she uncovers the long-buried secrets of a nearly forgotten shipwreck—and the courageous women who survived to bear
witness to history.”

Mary Kay Andrews
NYT Bestselling Author of

Hello Summer

"[S]pellbinding….Beautifully written with a masterfully crafted plot, Surviving Savannah leaves the reader breathless and marveling at the manner in which the past and present interweave in ways

we almost
cannot imagine.”

 
Marie Benedict 

NYT Bestselling Author of
The Only Woman in the Room & 
The Mystery of Mrs. Christie  

world map compass.jpg

"What a marvelous tapestry
Patti Callahan

has woven." 

 

"

savannah georgia river front.jpg

“Riveting…a heartfelt exploration of the pain of survival amid incalculable loss, and a mesmerizing character study of three women…[A] memorable and profoundly moving novel that readers are destined to cherish.” 

—Jennifer Robson,

International Bestselling Author of

Our Darkest Night & The Gown 

“[A] lush, meticulously researched deep-dive into the little-known story of a historic shipwreck….Surviving Savannah is a lyrical homage to this southern city and makes a real contribution to the historical record.”
—Stephanie Dray,

NYT Bestselling Author of

American's First Daughter