• Black Amazon Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • book-bub-icon
Official Website of New York Times  Bestselling Author

patti callahan henry

 
village flowers _edited.jpg
Bud Johnson Photography-color-129 (4) TO

From the New York Times bestselling author of Becoming Mrs. Lewis & Surviving Savannah comes her latest novel, The Secret Book of Flora Lea. Set outside Oxford in the hamlet of Binsey, to be released on May 2nd, 2023 with Simon & Schuster Atria.

River Thames Near Abingdon May 2020 lockdown .png

The Secret Book
of Flora Lea 

May 02, 2023 

Available in Hardcover, e-book,
and audiobook formats 

FINAL COVER JAMIE HD .png
 
 
pied piper illustration.png

After two young sisters evacuate London to live with strangers in the English countryside as part of Operation Pied Piper during World War II, the younger goes missing and is presumed drowned until 20 years later when the older sister, who works in a London rare book shop, receives a children’s book based on the secret fairy tale only the sisters shared. 

GREEN WHITE YELLOW FLOWERS.png
Book Summary 

"Not very long ago and not very far away, there once was and still is an invisible place right here with us. And if you are born knowing, you will find your way through the woodlands to the shimmering doors that lead to the land made just and exactly for you." —HAZEL MERSEY LINDEN, 1939.  

A missing sister, a mysterious fairy tale, The River Thames, and a lost love. 

 

1939: Fourteen-year-old Hazel and five-year-old Flora evacuate their London home for a rural village to escape the horrors of the Second World War. Living with the Aberdeen family in a charming stone cottage, Hazel distracts her young sister with a fairy tale about a magical land, a secret place they can escape to that is all their own: Whisperwood.

But the unthinkable happens when Flora suddenly vanishes after playing near the banks of the River Thames. Shattered, Hazel blames herself for her sister’s disappearance, carrying the guilt into adulthood.

Twenty years later, Hazel is back in London, ready to move on from her job at a cozy rare bookstore for a career at Sotheby’s. With a cherished boyfriend and an upcoming Paris getaway, Hazel’s future seems set. But her tidy life is turned upside down when she unwraps a package containing a picture book called Whisperwood and the River of Stars. Hazel never told a soul about the storybook world she created just for Flora. Could this book hold the secrets to Flora’s disappearance? Could it be a sign that her beloved sister is still alive after all these years? Or is something sinister at play?

For fans of Kate Morton, Janet Skeslien Charles, and Kristin Hannah, this is a “fantastical” (Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author) celebration of sisterhood and the magic of storytelling wrapped up in a “heartrending, captivating tale of family, first love, and fate” (Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author). 

 
Book flowers .png

Praise for
The Secret Book of Flora Lea 

 
snowball flowers.png

In this gorgeous ode to books and storytellers, Patti Callahan Henry shows that literature lives inside us, and can unite us despite the odds. Through war, young love, a sister’s remorse, and a mysterious land called Whisperwood, I was torn between savoring each word and tearing through the pages to learn what happened next. Pure magic!"

 

Janet Skeslien Charles, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Library

spring flat dark green flower.jpg

The Secret Book of Flora Lea is a beguiling blend of hope, mystery and true familial love. It exposes the deep wounds of a family tragically separated because of war. Told in an utterly fresh way with dual timelines and a host of unforgettable characters this is a story that is both necessary and satisfying through the last page. Powerful and spellbinding!"

 

Sadeqa Johnson International best-selling author of The House of Eve

GIRL PATH BEAR.png

"At the heart of this novel is a shattering loss that irrevocably changes the lives of a cast of complex, delightful characters. Henry is a born storyteller, keeping the reader on tenterhooks as she expertly unveils the truths and lies that drive this gripping, magical tale."

Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Magnolia Palace 

WAR 1939-1945_edited.jpg

Patti Callahan Henry has pulled off the near-impossible, she’s created a fantastical tale of myth, wartime history, and true heartache. I absolutely loved this book!”

  —Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of The Many Daughters of Afong

ENGLAND MAP .png

“Patti Callahan Henry is a master of the elusive fairy tale, and nowhere is her talent on better display than in the pages of THE SECRET BOOK OF FLORA LEA, a bittersweet tale of loss, destiny, and the strings of deep love that bind us together across the years.

The terror and heartbreak of the WW2-era children’s evacuation of London collide with the dangling threads of an unsolved mystery that picks up nearly two decades later, at the dawn of the swinging sixties. This heartrending, captivating tale of family, first love, and fate will sweep you away.”

Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Vanishing Stars and The Book of Lost Names 

Book flowers .png
BLUE AND GREEN FLOWERS  - Copy.png

"Deft, lyrical and supremely satisfying, The Secret Book of Flora Lea isn’t so much a departure for Patti Callahan Henry as it is a culmination of her gifts as a novelist. This is a book about difficult history and unsinkable hope, ordinary magic in the form of love, and about how our stories can save and sustain us in the most trying moments of our lives. Callahan’s plot will keep you guessing even as her characters steal your heart. I loved it!

Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife and When the Stars Go Dark

garden .png
MY TRAVEL BOOK .png

“Two sisters, dual time periods, a magical secret place, an abiding mystery — THE SECRET BOOK OF FLORA LEA is an enchanting story of survival against all odds. With her trademark warmth and a feather-light touch, Patti Callahan Henry weaves together events both real and imagined. Transporting, heartfelt, and atmospheric."

 

Christina Baker Kline, New York Times bestselling author of The Exiles

LONDON STAMP .png

“A spellbinding tale of hope and perseverance, The Secret Book of Flora Lea is as enchanting and whimsical as the Whisperwood fairytale hidden within its pages. It reminds us that a happily-ever-after isn't out of reach—so long as we heed the tiny voice within, whispering that the real magic of the story may be closer than we think."

 

Sarah Penner, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Apothecary and The London Seance Society

Treehouse lanterns .png
GAS MASK .png

"A world war and a fairy tale collide in the British countryside in 1940 — and Patti Callahan Henry is the perfect novelist to explore how the living are forever changed. The Secret Book of Flora Lea is a treasure: moving, surprising, and deeply evocative of an England that everyday walked the tightrope between heartbreak and hope.”

  — Chris Bohjalian, #1 New York Times Best-selling Author of The Lioness and The Flight Attendant

 
BLUE AND GREEN WATERCOLOR FIELD  - Copy.png
Patti's Travel 
Photo Gallery
 
 
LONDON COLOR.png
"Most Anticipated Historical Fiction of 2023"
SheReads
—Thoughts From a Page Podcast
Bud Johnson Photography-color-82 (2) TOU
A New York Times Bestselling Author
Podcast Host ​and Co-creator of 

Friends & Fiction 

About the Author 

sticker-png-32600.png

Patti Callahan Henry is a New York Times, EPCA, Globe and Mail, and USA Today bestselling author of sixteen novels.

 

She’s also a podcast host, and one of those podcasts explores the background of her novel, Becoming Mrs. Lewis, The Improbable Love Story of Joy Davidman and C. S. Lewis. Her latest novel, Once Upon a Wardrobe, released last October, explores the stories in C. S. Lewis's life that we might see hidden in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. Surviving Savannah, a historical novel exploring the true and lost to time shipwreck of the S. S. Pulaski was released last year. 

 

She is the recipient of The Christy Award “Book of the Year”; The Harper Lee Distinguished Writer of the Year and the Alabama Library Association Book of the Year for Becoming Mrs. Lewis


She is the co-host and co-creator of the popular weekly online Friends and Fiction live web show and podcast. Patti was also a contributor to the monthly life lesson essay column for Parade Magazine. She’s published in numerous anthologies, articles, and short story collections, including an Audible Original about Florence Nightingale, titled Wild Swan narrated by the Tony Award winner, Cynthia Erivo. 


A full-time author, mother of three, and grandmother of two, she lives in Mountain Brook, Alabama with her husband, Pat Henry.


Her newest novel, The Secret Book of Flora Lea, is set outside Oxford in the hamlet of Binsey and will be released on May 2nd, 2023 with Simon & Schuster Atria. 


She’s spent countless hours, and yet not nearly enough hours, wondering and reading and talking about C. S. Lewis, Joy Davidman, and their life together.

 

For more detailed info about Patti or for speaking inquiries, please visit our, SPEAKING page.

Photo Credit: Bud Johnson Photography

 
GREEN WHITE YELLOW FLOWERS.png

 "Check back here soon for a photo journal of
Patti’s trip to the places and lands of the novel.” 

More to Come!