top of page
  • Black Amazon Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • book-bub-icon
  • Writer's picturePatti Callahan Henry

Cover Reveal AU Edition

THE SECRET BOOK OF FLORA LEA by Patti Callahan Henry

May 3, 2023

by Patti Callahan Henry




Can a fairytale solve the mystery of her lost sister?


'Two sisters, dual time periods, a magical secret place, an abiding mystery -- The Secret Book of Flora Lea is an enchanting story of survival against all odds. With her trademark warmth and a feather-light touch, Patti Callahan Henry weaves together events both real and imagined. Transporting, heartfelt, and atmospheric.'

—Christina Baker Kline, New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train


1939: Fourteen-year-old Hazel and five-year-old Flora are evacuated from London to a rural village to escape the horrors of the Second World War. Living with the Aberdeen family in a charming stone cottage, Hazel distracts her young sister with a fairy tale about a magical land, a secret place they can escape to that is all their own: Whisperwood.


But the unthinkable happens when Flora vanishes near the banks of the River Thames. Shattered, Hazel blames herself for her sister's disappearance, carrying the guilt into adulthood.


Twenty years later, Hazel is back in London, ready to move on from her job at a cosy rare book shop for a career at Sotheby's. With a cherished boyfriend and an upcoming Paris getaway, Hazel's future seems set. But her tidy life is turned upside down when she unwraps a package containing a picture book called Whisperwood and the River of Stars. Hazel never told a soul about the storybook world she created just for Flora. Could this book hold the secrets to Flora's disappearance? Could it be a sign that her beloved sister is still alive after all these years? Or is something sinister at play?


For fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah, this is a captivating, poignant celebration of sisterhood and the magic of storytelling.


'A heartrending, captivating tale of family, first love, and fate' Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author




Available in Paperback and e-book.

Product Details

ISBN: 9781460763940

ISBN 10: 1460763947

Imprint: HarperCollins AU

On Sale: 03 May 2023

Pages: 384

List Price: 32.99 AUD

BISAC1: FICTION / Historical / World War II



NOTE FROM PATTI:


As The Secret Book of Flora Lea begins to make its way into the world, I love seeing foreign covers, and I have to say, in my not very humble opinion, that this Australian cover is giving me all the best feels. Head to toe. Head. To. Toe. I might very well frame it as a reminder of all the different ways that publishers imagine our story. I love them both madly.


If you look closely at this Australian cover you can see all sorts of hints about the story from hidden animals, to stars to the secret woodlands.


Keep your eye out for the most OMG pre-order package, party announcements, tour and so much more






Praise


A delicious mystery, woven with sparkling prose and wit.'—Josephine Moon, author of The Jam Queens

'A magical read! Combining a WWII narrative, a book of fairytales and a swinging Sixties storyline is an absolute masterstroke and Patti Callahan Henry weaves all her threads expertly together. Sit back and lose yourself in both the mystery of the missing sister and the enchantment of Whisperwood in this truly atmospheric tale.'

—Natasha Lester, international bestselling author of The Three Lives of Alix St Pierrewo



'A beautiful blend of love and mystery, The Secret Book of Flora Lea is captivating from the first page. Intriguing, atmospheric, rich in detail, it will break your heart and warm it at the same time. Definitely a book for book lovers; you’ll want to race through the pages but linger over the beautiful descriptions and superbly rendered characters. I loved it.’

—Belinda Alexandra, author of The French Agent


Links:






About the Author



Patti Callahan Henry is the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of several novels, including Surviving Savannah and Becoming Mrs. Lewis. She is the recipient of the Christy Award, the Harper Lee Award for Alabama’s Distinguished Writer of the Year Award, and the Alabama Library Association Book of the Year. She is the cohost and co-creator of the popular weekly online live web show and podcast Friends and Fiction. A full-time author and mother of three, she lives in Alabama and South Carolina with her family. Find out more at PattiCallahanHenry.com




Comments


bottom of page